Drunk Driving Injury Attorneys
Sacramento, Fairfield and Bay Area
Driving drunk is against the law. Accidents where alcohol is involved often result in serious injury and even wrongful death, forever impacting the lives of the victim’s loved ones. At York Law Corporation, our drunk driving injury attorney are experienced lawyers who serve Sacramento, Fairfield and the Bay Area with an unyielding commitment to justice. If you enlist our legal services, you will receive superior legal representation that will utilize every resource to present the strongest case possible on your behalf.
Drunk Driving Laws
Driving drunk (with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or greater) is illegal in all 50 states. All states have also adopted the “zero tolerance” law which applies to drivers under 21 with 0.01% blood alcohol concentration (BAC). For specific California laws pertaining to drunk driving, feel free to visit the California Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Drunk Driving Statistics
Overall, drunk driving statistics has lowered dramatically. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), in 2007, there were only 2.2% of drivers with a BAC at or above the legal limit of 0.08%. This represents an impressive 71% decline in weekend night drunken driving incidents. Not surprisingly, the same study found that those who did drive drunk drove more frequently during early nighttime (10pm to midnight) and late nighttime (1am to 3am) than during the daytime.
The National Institutes of Health reports that alcohol-related traffic deaths has declined by over 60% since the mid 1970s. Today, alcohol is involved in 40% of traffic deaths. Among individuals between the ages of 16 to 20, the percentage is 36%.
Drunk Driving Penalties
The penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) are strict. In California, a first time DUI offender can be punished by jail time from a minimum of 4 days to a maximum of 6 months. In addition, the individual will be fined, will lose her license for 6 months, will have to attend DUI school, and will be on probation for 3-5 years (where she cannot drink and drive at all during that period). Second DUI offenders have even more stringent penalties – the fines are greater, they lose their license for 2 years, in addition to all the penalties of a first time offender. The greater the offenses, the more severe the punishment. Once you have four DUI offenses, it may be considered a felony DUI. This can be punishable by up to 3 years in prison and permanent loss of driver’s license.
Dram Shop Liability
When a person is noticeably inebriated and a host or business continues to serve the intoxicated individual, can the person who continued to serve the drunk patron or guest be liable for any injury he or she causes? In California, the answer is “yes,” but only if the individual is a minor. The Dram Shop Act imposes liability on the part of the vendor or host who serves an obviously inebriated individual, as well as the business itself. California only finds the host or business strictly liable if he or she continues to serve a noticeably intoxicated minor and someone is injured by the drunken patron or guest.
Contact Our Drunk Driving Injury Attorneys
If you or someone you love has suffered an injury due to a drunk driving accident, contact York Law Firm to schedule a case evaluation. We will fight tirelessly to obtain the compensation you deserve.